Warning: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, function 'wp_init_targeted_link_rel_filters' not found or invalid function name in D:\Hosting\4374922\html\rcmco\wp-includes\class-wp-hook.php on line 286
January 11, 2019 Update | Roger C. Marquardt & Co., Inc.

January 11, 2019 Update

The 101st General Assembly was sworn into office at noon on January 9th. Both chambers spent the first two days organizing for business and filing new legislation.
Democrat Michael Madigan was re-elected to his 18th term as Speaker of the House, making him the longest serving Speaker in the country, while John Cullerton was re-elected to his 6th term as Senate President. Republican Leaders Representative Jim Durkin and Senator Bill Brady were also re-elected. Even though Democrats now have a veto-proof majority in both chambers, (74-44 in the House and 40-19 in the Senate), Republicans and Democrats pledged to work in a bipartisan manner going forward.
Senate President Cullerton announced his leadership team for the 101st General Assembly. Senator Lightford will serve as the Majority Leader. Senators Link, Munoz, Harmon, Martinez and Koehler will all serve as Assistant Majority Leaders. Senator Hunter will serve as Majority Caucus Chair and Senators Collins, Sandoval and Holmes will serve as Majority Caucus Whips. Republican Leader Brady has not announced his leadership team.
Rules to govern the Illinois Senate were filed and adopted. The Senate will now have 25 standing committees. Changes to the Senate committee structure include eliminating the Senate Gaming Committee; revamping the Government Reform Committee into the Government Accountability and Pensions Committee and restructuring the Licensed Activities and Pensions Committee into the Licensed Activities Committee. Membership for Senate committees, including chairmanships, are pending.
Representative Greg Harris will serve as the House Majority Leader, replacing Barbara Flynn Currie who retired at the end of the 100th General Assembly. Speaker Madigan is expected to announced his remaining leadership team in the coming days. Rules to govern the House of Representatives have not yet been filed and committees have not yet been named.
Governor-Elect Pritzker made the following staffing announcements:

  • Emily Bittner will serve as Deputy Chief of Staff for Communications in the Office of the Governor. Bittner currently serves as Chief of Strategy for Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel.
  • Jordan Abudayyeh will serve as Press Secretary in the Office of the Governor. Abudayyeh currently serves as press secretary of the transition and served the same role on Pritzker’s gubernatorial campaign.
  • Tiffany Newbern-Johnson will serve as Deputy Chief of Staff for Legislative Affairs in the Office of the Governor. Newbern-Johnson currently leads Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel’s state legislative agenda as the Deputy Director of Legislative Counsel and Government Affairs.
  • Alicia Tate-Nadeau will serve as Director of Homeland Security and the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA). Tate-Nadeau currently serves as the executive director of the Chicago Office of Emergency Management and Communications.
  • Janel L. Forde will serve as Director of the Illinois Department of Central Management Services (CMS). Forde currently serves as the chief operating officer of the City of Chicago after serving the same role at the Illinois State Board of Education.
  • Theresa Eagleson will serve as Director of the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services (HFS). Eagleson currently serves as the executive director of the Office of Medicaid Innovation at the University of Illinois system.
  • Heidi Mueller will continue to serve as Director of the Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice (IDJJ). Mueller has spent nearly five years at IDJJ and was appointed to serve as director by Gov. Bruce Rauner in 2016.
  • Matt Perez will continue to serve as Illinois State Fire Marshal. Perez was appointed as Illinois State Fire Marshal by Governor Bruce Rauner in 2015.