August 1, 2022 Update


Adult Use Cannabis Revenue: The State of Illinois has seen a 50% increase in total tax reported from adult-use cannabis, from $297.7 million in fiscal year 2021 to $445.3 million in fiscal year 2022. Total adult-use cannabis sales also rose 50%, increasing from $1 billion to $1.5 billion, respectively.

Cannabis tax disbursements to local governments increased from fiscal year 2021 to fiscal year 2022, increasing 77% from $82.8 million to $146.2 million. Under Illinois’ adult-use cannabis law, 25% of tax revenue generated from cannabis sales must support communities that are economically distressed, experience high rates of violence, and have been disproportionately impacted by drug criminalization.

Adult Use Cannabis Social Equity Licenses: The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation issued 149 Conditional Adult Use Dispensing Organization Licenses to social equity applicants selected in three lotteries held in the summer of 2021.  The list of awardees and the next steps for the conditional license period are available on the IDFPR’s Adult Use Cannabis webpage.

Of the businesses selected through the lottery, 41% are majority Black-owned, 7% are majority White-owned, and 4% are majority Latino-owned, while 38% of awardees did not disclose the race of their owners.

The businesses awarded Conditional Licenses will have 180 days to select a physical storefront location and obtain the full Adult Use Dispensing Organization License. A full overview with next steps for the process is  here. If a Conditional Licensee is unable to find a suitable physical location within the 180-day period, they may request an extension of 180 days. Once issued an Adult Use Dispensing Organization License, a business may begin purchasing and dispensing adult use cannabis.

Illinois Transportation Enhancement Program: The application period for the Illinois Transportation Enhancement Program (ITEP) begins August 1. Projects eligible for funding through ITEP include biking and walking paths, trails, streetscape beautification work, and other improvements designed to encourage safe travel across the various modes of transportation at the local level.

Applicants can include local governments and regional planning commissions as well as nonprofit and private entities with a public sponsor. The maximum award is $3 million. For more information, including instructions on how to view and participate in webinars on the application process, visit the Illinois Transportation Enhancement Program page.

Executive Order: Executive Order 2022-17 which reissues previous COVID-19 Executive Orders.

Gubernatorial Appointments:   The Governor made the following appointments:

·       Neema Jha will serve as a Member of the Chicago Transit Authority Board.

·       David Olson will continue to serve as a Member of the Illinois Criminal Justice Information Authority.


Libertarian Secretary of State Candidate Jesse White withdrew from the race. White shares the same name as retiring Democrat Secretary of State Jesse White. 


Driver’s License Extension:  Illinois Secretary of State Jesse White announced that expiration dates for driver’s licenses, ID cards and learner’s permits are being extended until December 1, 2022. The previous extension was set to end on July 31, 2022. This extension does not apply to commercial driver’s licenses (CDL) and CDL learner’s permits. The Secretary of State’s Office is also extending the expiration dates of Restricted Driving Permits (RDPs) to December 1, 2022 for those that expired on or after December 1, 2021 through December 1, 2022.

White continues to encourage people to conduct other business online at In addition to driver’s license and ID card renewals for those who qualify, online services include obtaining a duplicate driver’s license or ID card, ordering a driver record and purchasing license plate stickers.


House Speaker Welch formed four working groups to address reproductive health, firearm safety, mental health and social media and online extremism. The Democratic lawmakers will collaborate with stakeholders and community advocates and could make legislative recommendations in time for the November veto session. No word yet if Republican members of the House will be asked to participate.

·       Reproductive Health and the Dobbs Decision Working Group, led by Representative Kelly Cassidy.

Members: Representatives Dagmara Avelar, Lakesia Collins, Terra Costa Howard, Margaret Croke, LaToya Greenwood, Greg Harris, Anna Moeller and Ann Williams.

·       Firearm Safety and Reform Working Group, led by Representative Bob Morgan, who was participating in the Highland Park parade when a gunman opened fire July 4.

Members: Representatives La Shawn Ford, Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, Sonya Harper, Barbara Hernandez, Maura Hirschauer, Jay Hoffman, Nick Smith, Denyse Stoneback, Kathleen Willis and Lance Yednock.

·       Mental Health Working Group, led by Representative Deb Conroy.

Members: Representatives Fred Crespo, Mary Flowers, Angelica Guerrero-Cuellar, Will Guzzardi, Fran Hurley, Lindsey LaPointe, Camille Lilly, Rita Mayfield, Michelle Mussman, Bob Rita and Maurice West.

·       Social Media and Online Extremism Working Group, led by Representative Jaime Andrade.

Members: Representatives Carol Ammons, Jonathan Carroll, Daniel Didech, Edgar Gonzalez, Stephanie Kifowit, Lamont Robinson, Curtis Tarver and Michael Zalewski.